All Saints’ Day Chicken Sandwich

I don’t know when the tradition of bringing chicken sandwich on All Saints’ Day started in our family.  One thing I’m sure though, my Aunt has been doing that for as long as I could remember.  Their mausoleum’s is not far from ours, and she’d always hand a loaf of chicken sandwich over every single year.  So, even if I can make our own sandwich now, still I’m hands down to my Ninang Ate’s chicken sandwich.  Hers is still the best, mine will probably come in second, lol!

(’Ninang’ means Godmother and ‘Ate’ means big sister.  She’s the sister in law of my mom and the Godmother of my brother.  We grew up calling her that thinking ‘Ate’ was her name, and we feel like she’s everybody’s Godmother, so ‘Ninang Ate.’

Now that she’s a Grandmother or ‘Lola’, my nephews and nieces would call her ‘Lola Ninang Ate’.)

For this recipe, you’ll need:

Your favorite loaf bread

1 chicken breast, about half a kilo, boiled and shredded

½ kilo Mayonnaise

2 tbsp. minced pickles

1 tbsp. minced onion

Salt and pepper

‘Dish’ is how I do it:

I simply mix all the ingredients together!

It’ll be ideal to let it sit for about 30 minutes to let all the flavors blend in together.  But of course, you can make your sandwich right away if you want to.

Tips:

For the chicken, I prefer just dicing the meat.

I’d rather squeeze the juice out of the pickles, I find it too sour, and also I think it makes your chicken spread watery.

Others are not a big fan of onion, so you can omit that.

You can season it according to your taste, I like mine with lots of pepper!  If you think your spread turns out too sour, you can add a pinch of sugar.

Leave a comment